Iloilo City Proper

Iloilo City Proper is one of the six districts also known as the center or heart of Iloilo City. It received its present name from the province’s original Irong-Irong reference. Originally founded as La Punta, it was only inhabited in 1602 when Spanish and Chinese residents from Jaro and Molo expanded their territorial area History […]

District of Villa Arevalo, Iloilo City

Villa de Arevalo commonly known as simply Villa or Arevalo is one of the six districts of Iloilo City, in the Philippine province of Iloilo. It was originally founded as La Villa Rica de Arévalo by a Spanish official who built his mansion along the coastal settlement in the 16th century. It was absorbed by […]

District of Molo, Iloilo City

Molo is one of the seven districts of Iloilo City. Molo was a separate town before it was merged into Iloilo City in 1937. It was originally the parián of Iloilo, the area that all Chinese residents must live. Molo is the home to the historic Molo Church, officially the Church of St. Anne Parish, […]