Iloilo Events and Festival

January Binanog Festival (Municipality of Lambunao) – 2nd Sunday of January Fireworks Display and Contest (Arevalo, Iloilo City) – January 15 Pasungay Festival (Municipality of San Joaquin) – 3rd Saturday of January Bayluhay Festival (Municipality of San Joaquin) – 3rd Saturday of January Sinadya sang mga Banwa (Iloilo Provincial Capitol Grounds) – 3rd weekend of January Dinagyang Festival (Iloilo City) – […]

Iloilo City Proper

Iloilo City Proper is one of the six districts also known as the center or heart of Iloilo City. It received its present name from the province’s original Irong-Irong reference. Originally founded as La Punta, it was only inhabited in 1602 when Spanish and Chinese residents from Jaro and Molo expanded their territorial area History […]

District of Villa Arevalo, Iloilo City

Villa de Arevalo commonly known as simply Villa or Arevalo is one of the six districts of Iloilo City, in the Philippine province of Iloilo. It was originally founded as La Villa Rica de Arévalo by a Spanish official who built his mansion along the coastal settlement in the 16th century. It was absorbed by […]

District of Molo, Iloilo City

Molo is one of the seven districts of Iloilo City. Molo was a separate town before it was merged into Iloilo City in 1937. It was originally the parián of Iloilo, the area that all Chinese residents must live. Molo is the home to the historic Molo Church, officially the Church of St. Anne Parish, […]

The 7 Boroughs of Iloilo City

Iloilo City is made up of seven boroughs or districts: the Arevalo, which covers 13 barangays, Molo with 25 barangays, Mandurriao with 18 barangays, City Proper with 45 barangays, La Paz with 25 barangays, Jaro with 42 barangays, and Lapuz with 12 barangays. Each one has enough attractions—and enough personality. Learn more about them with […]