ILOILO CITY, Apr. 02 (PNA)- THE Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD-6) will implement a P384 million-worth of livelihood projects for survivors of Typhoon Yolanda.

Dubbed as Cash for Work for restoration and rebuilding of community livelihood assets, the project will fund farm- to-market road restoration, dredging of irrigation canals, repair of public market, mangrove plantation and other activities for restoration and similar livelihood activities.

“Many have lost their means of livelihood because of the typhoon. This cash for work program aims to restore livelihood activities in localities,” said Mary Ann Masculino, regional project development officer, who heads the Livelihood Unit of DSWD-6

Masculino said that beneficiaries will be coming from 84 municipalities within the 50 kilometer radius of the path of the typhoon. Some 84,000 families will benefit from this project with each town contributing 1,000 participants.

Each participant will receive P4,305 for a 15-day work at P287 per day.

Masculino said they have already communicated to the LGUs to submit their proposal as well as the list of beneficiaries.

“Those who can benefit are typhoon Yolanda survivors, whose houses were either partially or totally damaged,” she said.

The municipalities included in the typhoon’s path are Altavas, Balete, Banga, Batan, Buruanga, Ibajay, Kalibo, Lezo, Libacao, Madalag, Malay, Makato, Malinao, Nabas, New Washington, Numancia and Tangalan, all in Aklan Province.

In Antique, towns identified were Barbaza, Bugasong, Caluya, Culasi, Laua-an, Libertad, Pandan, Patnongon, San Remigio, Sebaste, Tibiao and Valderama.

For Capiz, named towns were Cuartero, Dao, Dumalag, Dumarao, Ivisan, Jamindan, Maayon, Mambusao, Panay, Panitan, Pilar, Pontevedra, Pres. Roxas, Roxas City, Sapi-an, Sigma, and Tapaz.

On the other hand, Iloilo LGUs identified were Ajuy, Alimodian, Anilao, Badiangan, Balasan, Banate, Barotac Nuevo, Barotac Viejo, Batad, Bingawan, Cabatuan, Calinog, Carles, Concepcion, Dingle, Duenas, Dumangas, Estancia, Janiuay, Lambunao, Lemery, Maasin, Mina, New Lucena, Passi City, Pototan, San Dionisio, San Enrique, San Rafael, Sara and Zarraga.

In Negros Occidental, those identified were Cadiz City, EB Magalona, Escalante City, Manapla, Sagay City, Silay City and Victorias City.

The DSWD is also calling on LGUs to submit detailed proposals on the program of work where the beneficiaries will engage in.

“In the first batch of the cash for work program which the department implemented, the battle neck was in the preparation of proposals. Submitted to us were documents not including the specific work and its scope. For a proposal to be approved, the program of works should be clear,” said Judith Tanate, head of the Crisis Intervention Unit and Disaster Risk Reduction Management Unit.

Masculino, for her part, said that they have set April 15, 2014 as deadline in the submission of proposals to the regional office, already including the list of beneficiaries.(PNA)